Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124

Who Owns The Montreal Canadiens?

Who Owns The Montreal Canadiens?

The current owners of the Montreal Canadiens franchise are The Molson family, who bought the team back in 2009 for $575 million. Geoff Molson is the current owner, president, and CEO of the Canadiens.

Since taking over in 2009, Molson has overseen a dramatic turnaround, leading the team to six divisional titles and two conference championships. He has also invested heavily in player development, helping to create one of the NHL’s most talented rosters. In fact, they reached the Stanley Cup in 2021 but untimely came up short of the Tampa Bay Lightning in five games.

Where Do The Canadiens Play Their Home Games?

The Montreal Canadiens play their home games at the Bell Centre, which is located in downtown Montreal. The arena opened its doors on March 16, 1996, and has a capacity of 21,288. Besides being the home of the Canadiens the venue hosts events such as concerts, professional wrestling, theatre performances, and UFC events.

About The Montreal Canadiens Franchise

The Montreal Canadiens are a professional ice hockey team based in Montreal, Quebec. They are members of the National Hockey League (NHL), one of the Original Six teams that made up the league. The Canadiens were founded in 1909 by Ambrose O’Brien and have won more Stanley Cups than any other NHL team, with 24 victories.

The franchise is also second in all professional sports in terms of titles won, second to only the New York Yankees, who have 27 World Series titles as of the 2023 baseball season. Despite the success of Montreal, they last won the Stanley Cup in 1993 and have only returned once since. (2021)

The Canadiens’ main rivals are the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Boston Bruins. The rivalry with the Maple Leafs is among the oldest and most intense in professional sports and is often referred to as “the Holy War.”

The greatest players in franchise history include Maurice “Rocket” Richard, Jean Beliveau, Guy Lafleur, and Patrick Roy. These players have all been inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame, and the team has retired their jersey numbers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *