Physical Address

304 North Cardinal St.
Dorchester Center, MA 02124

Who Owns The Edmonton Oilers?

Who Owns The Edmonton Oilers?

Daryl Katz is the current owner of the Edmonton Oilers franchise when he bought the team in 2008 for $270 million. He is a Canadian businessman and philanthropist, the chairman and chief executive officer of the Rexall Drug Store chain.

Born in Edmonton, Alberta, Katz graduated from the University of Alberta with a degree in pharmacy. He then founded The Katz Group, a chain of drugstores that eventually acquired the Rexall Drug Store chain. In addition to his business interests, Katz is also a major philanthropist. He has donated millions of dollars to various causes, including healthcare, education, and arts and culture.

According to Forbes, as of the 2022-2023 season, the Edmonton Oilers are worth $1.1 Billion dollars. This makes them the 7th most valuable National Hockey League (NHL) franchise.

Where Do The Oilers Play Their Home Games?

The Oilers play their home games at Rogers Place, which they share with the city’s other professional sports teams, the Edmonton Eskimos of the Canadian Football League (CFL) and FC Edmonton of the North American Soccer League (NASL).

Rogers Place is located in downtown Edmonton, 104th Avenue between 102nd Street and 104th Street. It replaced Rexall Place, the Oilers’ former home arena, which closed in 2016. The arena has a capacity of 18,500 for hockey games.

About The Edmonton Oilers Franchise

The Edmonton Oilers are a professional ice hockey team based in Edmonton, Alberta. They are members of the Pacific Division of the Western Conference in the National Hockey League (NHL). The Oilers were founded in 1971 as one of the 12 founding WHA franchises and joined the NHL in 1979 as part of the NHL–WHA merger.

They played their first NHL season in 1979–80 and won five Stanley Cups in a seven-year span from 1983 to 1990 but have not won a Stanley Cup since then. However, they did make it to the Finals in 2006, where they lost to the Carolina Hurricanes. As of 2022, the Oilers have made the playoffs 24 times in their history, winning two Presidents’ Trophies as the top regular season team in the NHL (1986–87 & 1987–88) and seven division championships (1978-1979, 1981-1987).

The Oilers have had many great players throughout history, including Wayne Gretzky, Mark Messier, Jari Kurri, Glenn Anderson, Paul Coffey, Grant Fuhr, Ryan Smyth, and Connor McDavid. The Oilers have also been home to many great coaches, including Glen Sather and Craig MacTavish.

They have a renowned rivalry with the Calgary Flames. The two teams are located in adjacent provinces, and their fans share a passion for the sport of hockey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *